Horizons 2011 Planning Has Already Begun

Horizons

Horizons

Just last month the last Summer Horizons 2010 session ended. It seems crazy to think about, but the planning for Horizons 2011 has already begun. This month the Cornerstone board started their planning with conference calls to decide any new curriculum and improvements for next year. They’ll be working on these decisions throughout the year, including their most important “face-to-face” meetings in October.

It must be an incredibly difficult task to improve a leadership program that receives nothing but praise. I can’t recall one time hearing a negative comment about Horizons, except for “I didn’t get picked to go this year”. The Sigma Chi Horizons Board definitely deserves a lot of credit and praise for their work.

If you’ve ever attended Horizons, I’d love to hear about your experience in the comments below. Also, they’re numerous blog posts about Horizons here on the ShareSigmaChi blog if you’re interested in reading more.

[update 8.25.2010] Just received the following information from Greg Morgan (Director of Leadership Programs)

Here are a few things from this summer that I feel are notable:

  1. There were four undergraduate sessions, which is one more than last year.
  2. There were 197 undergraduates who participated, which was up from the 144 last year.
  3. Every colony that was installed in the past year had at least one chapter brother attend Horizons.

I can tell you that there will be four sessions next summer and the event will remain at the Snowbird Ski & Summer Resort outside of Salt Lake City, UT.

In Hoc,

Jacob Cook

ShareSigmaChi on Twitter

One Response to Horizons 2011 Planning Has Already Begun

  1. Mike Targonski says:

    Horizons was the greatest experience I’ve had in my entire life. I learned so much about myself. The things I learned have affected the way I speak, conduct myself, and how I lead. Changes have been present since I left the mountain. Best of luck to the Operating Board! Your dedication makes the program what it is, and I hope that there are even more Sigma Chis present in 2011!